Advanced Search | Customer Care | NCIXUS Forums |
Newsletters | Contact Us | Your Account | VIEW CART  
 Welcome 
 Hot Deals 
 NCIX PC 
 Forums 
  CANADA |  USA
Shop by Brand  |  Shop by Category  |  Bestsellers  |  Latest Reviews  |  New Arrivals
Search
Hot Searches:
 
BRENDON_C's product reviews
1. G.SKILL F1-3200PHU1-1GBNT PC3200 2GB 2X1GB DDR400 CL3-4-4-8 184PIN DIMM
    rated on 1-25-08   Experience:  7 Days    
Strengths
Price
Tight timings for the price
Stable as a rock
Very well packaged in cardboard box and then RAM in a plastic holder
 
Weaknesses
not very overclockable
 
Summary
Picked up this RAM for an older Athlon XP, had some initial issues with my overclocked Athlon trying to run this at DDR-400 off a 159 Mhz FSB which is in the range of DDR-500, ran fine with a 133 FSB or the 159 Mhz FSB and set too DDR-333. For the price this is a no brainer to pick up to bring life back into an older system, 5 stars as Overclocking is not a necessity to me. Very good shipping from Ncix as expected.
2. NCIX Water Cooling Essentials 240 CPU Water Cooling Kit
    rated on 1-25-08   Experience:  7 Days    
Strengths
Quality
Well selected components for price point

 
Weaknesses
may need a few more small components.
 
Summary
This is a very well thought out kit. The block does come with a small tube of AS Ceramique in the pack, I do suggest grabbing some MX-2 if ya want that extra bit of Performance. I also tossed on some Scythe Ultra Kaze 3K 133.3 cfm fans, had to rig up some way of attaching them to the rad though. I also suggest some DD MCT -40 coolant, the best performing and complete coolant out there. Overall highly recommended kit
3. Scythe Ultra Kaze 120MM High Static Pressure Silent Fan 38MM 3000RPM 133.6CFM 45.9DBA
    rated on 1-25-08   Experience:  7 Days    
Strengths
Really really really *Blows*
Great craftsmanship
Best for the price point
 
Weaknesses
LOUD
 
Summary
The only weakness about these is the sound, but for a 100+ CFM fan you can not expect silence. The sound is kinda great though. DO NOT BUY THESE IF YOU WANT QUIET. But these fans seriously push Massively huge amounts of air, like I mean massive amounts of air I have ceiling fans that pale in comparison to these.
4. Arctic Cooling MX-2 Thermal Compound Paste NON-ELECTRICAL Conductive 4 Gram
    rated on 1-25-08   Experience:  7 Days    
Strengths
great performance
price
 
Weaknesses
*goopy*
 
Summary
a quick tip, first time you open this push some out onto a piece of paper to get it flowing, or else it will come flying out the tip :P. Overall a great product, great packaging and simply wonderful performance.
5. Swiftech MCR220 Quiet Power Dual 120MM Water Cooling Radiator Black G1/4 Threaded
    rated on 1-27-08   Experience:  9 Days    
Strengths
Great finish
Well built
Great air flow
good looks
 
Weaknesses
Seems like possible rust/tarnish within the small reservoirs
Does not fit 120 mm x 38 mm fans with included mounting hardware
 
Summary
This is a great rad, I did notice that within the reservoirs where the barbs go there does appear to be tarnished copper or some other foreign substance but no issues so far. Strapped 2 Scythe Ultra Kaze 3K fans to this, ran into the issue of the fans not fitting with the included straight through bolts, had to literally strap the fans on till I can pick up some longer screws. All around high recommended
6. Danger Den MCT-40 32 oz NON-CONDUCTIVE Water Replacement
    rated on 2-3-08   Experience:  2 Weeks    
Strengths
Great color, it is not obnoxiously colored
-40C freezing point
only coolant you will ever need
 
Weaknesses
Smells very toxic
 
Summary
great coolant, best stuff you would ever need. Very good green coloring that is not obnoxiously colored. This stuff smells like it could kill you so do not ingest. was enough to fill a full cpu loop with no issues.
7. Masterkleer Pvc Tubing 7/16IN ID 5/9IN OD 10 Feet
    rated on 2-3-08   Experience:  2 Weeks    
Strengths
Fits snugly on 1/2" barbs.

 
Weaknesses
Kinks fairly easily (get some smartcoils)
harder to work with as it is fairly stiff
Came with a slight kink near the one end due to
 
Summary
Decent tubing, kinks pretty easy though. Would buy again if need be due to the higher price of tygon. This is worth the money.
8. LG GSA-H55N Black DVD+RW 20X8X16 DVD-RW 20X6X16 INT IDE 2MB OEM DVD Writer W/ SW
    rated on 2-3-08   Experience:  2 Weeks    
Strengths
-Price
-Runs as needed.
 
Weaknesses
-None
 
Summary
I have only ever owned LG DVD Burners. They are best priced for performance and they have never let me down. Easily installed. Decent software included.
9. Magicool Red UV Reactive 5MM X 190MM Cable Ties (10 Pack)
    rated on 2-3-08   Experience:  2 Weeks    
Strengths
Hold well.
they work.
 
Weaknesses
Pink colored.
 
Summary
I can not complain about these, Ncix threw these in with my Ncix Essentials 240 kit (highly recomended) at no additional cost. They are pink but I have not tested these under UV. Pretty decent zip ties though they are not cheap in any way and are hard to remove (good/bad)
10. NCIX Heavy Duty Shipping Box
    rated on 2-7-08   Experience:  3 Weeks    
Strengths
Well packaged
tons of packaging materials
 
Weaknesses
-its a box..... better not have any weakness's
 
Summary
Ordered a decent sized order, everything showed up just as expected. Well packaged and nothing broke.
11. Swiftech Smartcoils 625 Blue
    rated on 2-7-08   Experience:  3 Weeks    
Strengths
works
looks good
 
Weaknesses
-none
 
Summary
Did not think this stuff would work as well it does but I was surprised, had a pretty tight radius to bend this and it took the challenge like a champ. Highly recommended
12. Polypropylene T for Water Cooling T Line 1/2IN Barbs
    rated on 2-8-08   Experience:  3 Weeks    
Strengths
-works
-good fitting
 
Weaknesses
-none
 
Summary
its a water loop T, what else is there to say? it does not leak and has a pretty good seal. Good if ya need it.
13. AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Dual Core Processor Socket AM2 Windsor 3.0GHZ 2000FSB 2X1MB 90NM Retail Box
    rated on 2-9-08   Experience:  5 Months    
Strengths
-1 MB Cache (big for AMD)
-Well performing at stock speeds
 
Weaknesses
-Runs excruciatingly hot under load with stock heatsink
-Does not OC very well as the Windsor cores are being pushed to their limit
 
Summary
Grabbed one of these for a build a few months back. I wish now I had grabbed the X2 5000+. This is a decent CPU if you do not wish to overclock. On stock speeds with stock cooler this thing was hitting over 60 C under load. I strapped on the NCIX Essentials 240 liquid cooler and it dropped to about 30 C full load (AS MX-2 paste). With liquid I have only been able to push it too 3440 Mhz (235x14 1.6 Vcore 2.2 RAM with Ballistix Tracer 800Mhz) still finishing the tuning though, seems to overclock higher with a lower multiplier though. I would not purchase one again since the 5000+ is $70 cheaper, and can reach higher clock speeds (albeit having only 512 KB of L2).
14. ASUS Crosshair ATX AM2 Nforce 590 SLI DDR2 2PCI-E16 PCI-E4 3PCI SATA2 GBLAN 1394 Sound Motherboard
    rated on 2-9-08   Experience:  5 Months    
Strengths
-One of the best AM2 boards.
-Performas exceptionably well
-Tons of OC Options
-Has a certain "bling" factor
 
Weaknesses
-Bloody Hot
-If you do not need lights you can grab the M2N
-Very hot Chipset, heatpipes do not seem to work that well for a passive solution

 
Summary
I grabbed this a few months back to pair up with a Athlon X2 6000+. The CPU Seems to be the limiting factor in this, I had some initial issues with EPP profiles etc... but I then resorted to manual overclockign which cleared some stuff up. Looking back now I kinda wished I had gone Intel. Have a Scythe Ultra kaze 3K blowing on the chipset to keep it cool (it is way too hot)
15. Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-800 CL4-4-4-12 240PIN Dual Channel Kit W/ LEDs
    rated on 2-10-08   Experience:  3 Months    
Strengths
-Looks great
-Runs even better
-OC's like mad
 
Weaknesses
-Bit warm
 
Summary
Grabbed this paired with a Athlon 64 x2 6000+ and a asus Crosshair. Runs great and stable. Got this overclocked to PC2-1142 5-4-4-15-19 2t on 2.1 V. That is 3430 Mhz /6 or 571 Mhz*2 running perfectly stable. Absolutely beautiful results. Amazing RAM, would buy again (or the PC2-1066 stock kit). BTW, Mine are Micron 9's, and double LED stripped.
16. EVGA E-GEFORCE 9600GT Superclocked 675MHZ 512MB 1.8GHZ DDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI-I HDTV Out Video Card
    rated on 3-18-08   Experience:  6 Days    
Strengths
1 Slot
Runs fairly cool
Can be somewhat overclocked
Step up program
warranty
customer service from EVGA
 
Weaknesses
Price/Performance is not quite right yet
 
Summary
This is a decent card on sale. The ATI 3850 has this thing beat for the price/performance. Just purely on the performance side of things this card is pretty decent for a mid-range card. I bought EVGA only because of their step-up program and EVGA has to have one of the best warranty's/customer service ever. Can not give it 5 stars due to the regular price. On sale though this is like a 4.8/5 video card.
17. Feser One Fluid UV Black NON-CONDUCTIVE Water Replacement for Liquid Cooling
    rated on 3-26-08   Experience:  14 Days    
Strengths
Very black when in tubing
Decent cooling
 
Weaknesses
Looks purple in bottle
"Special order" now so I will have to change colors when I re-do my cooling loop
 
Summary
This stuff looks great. Really put the polish on my last build. It may look purplish in the bottle but looks pitch black in the tubing. Too bad it is now "special order"
18. Logisys CLK12BL2 12" Dual Blue Cold Cathode Kit Dia 3.0MM 300MM 28,000 CD/M2
    rated on 3-26-08   Experience:  14 Days    
Strengths
Bright
2 in 1 package
Price
 
Weaknesses
more wires to add to your case
not Audio sensitive
 
Summary
These are great. They are cheap, work well, and are very bright without blinding. Really brightens up the inside of your case. Will buy again
19. Microsoft Lifecam VX-3000 1.3MP Interpolated Web Cam Windows USB OEM Single
    rated on 5-10-08   Experience:  3 Days    
Strengths
Good picture when focused properly
Works with Vista 64Bit ***See comments***
Looks good
 
Weaknesses
Will not work with Vista 64 bit with 4+ GB of RAM out of the box.
Microhpone is garbage (lots of static, have not tweaked though)
Must be manually focused
 
Summary
For a cheap $30 webcam this fits the bill just right. I just had to retire a cheap RetailPlus+ laptop webcam (Bought from retail store, cheap but had amazing picture) as it was not compatible at all with Vista 64 bit. This Camera will not work out of the box with any drivers publicly available for Vista 64 bit with more then 4 GB of RAM, you need a specific hotfix from Microsoft That you need to request (Google Microsoft LifeCam VX-300 vista drivers, the linsk will come up too request it).

When ya first get this working the picture will look like absolute garbage, you need to focus using the turny ring on the lense then the picture gets pretty good for a $30 webcam.

This would have gotten 5/5 if it was not for the Hotfix issue and needing to manually focus the lense. I would pruchase again but be ready not too be able to use this for a day with Vista 64 bit with 4GB+ RAM (Takes 8 hours to get the hotfix PW from MS)
20. Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition 64BIT DVD OEM
    rated on 6-18-08   Experience:  2 Months    
Strengths
-Better choice then 64 Bit XP.
-DVD is awfully shiny
-Overall great product
 
Weaknesses
-Windows update would corrupt system files.
 
Summary
Had to upgrade to 64 bit as I passed the 4 GB RAM limit of Xp Pro. I thought I might as well go Vista 64 bit as Xp 64 bit would not be as mature and have more compatibility issues. Only issue I have had is with Windows update, would not update properly, would just corrupt some system files preventing it from booting (Roll back fixed this). SP1 fixed this and running fine now. No issues with 6 GB Of RAM, runs like a dream.
21. Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160 Dual Core Processor LGA775 1.8GHZ 800FSB 1MB Retail
    rated on 6-18-08   Experience:  2 Months    
Strengths
-OC's like a dream
-Price is right
-Fatser then an Athlon X2 clock for clock
 
Weaknesses
-Low cache
 
Summary
Managed to crank this up to 3.6Ghz (400x9) with Liquid using a DS3L. I am very, very, very happy with this chip. This now holds a special place in my heart for being able to hit a 100% OC. Clock for Clock it is faster then my previous Athlon X2 6000+ ($187 chip) and OC's higher on liquid and still runs cooler (Got the 6000+ up too 3.5 Ghz and was semi-stable, using a 1.8 VCore). Only had to up the VCore on this chip to 1.6 to hit 3.6 Ghz. Temps are 25-30C idle and 60-65C under full load. Highly recommend this for any overclockers out there looking for a cheap thrill.
22. Intel BOXD945GCLF MINI-ITX 945GC Atom 230 1.6GHZ DDR2 1PCI SATA Video Sound LAN Motherboard Retail
    rated on 8-20-08   Experience:  60 Days    
Strengths
-Low power usage
-Good price
-Easy cable management
-Runs cool
 
Weaknesses
-Expandability
-Only 2 Sata ports
 
Summary
Picked one of these up too replace a Pentium 3 1.0 Ghz that had a dieing motherboard. Paired this with a Ballistix tracer stick I had lying around and it does everything it needs too do. The only major issues I have found is it only has 2 SATA ports and not very upgradable, still works wonders for the price.
23. Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 640GB 3.5IN SATA2 7200RPM 32MB Cache NCQ Hard Drive OEM *5YR MFR Warranty*
    rated on 10-2-08   Experience:  2 Months    
Strengths
Fast
Cheap
Great $/GB
 
Weaknesses
That damn jumper too enable 3.0 Gb/s
 
Summary
Decent drives, bought 2 for a hoem media server while on sale, no regrets. The jumper is tiny though, be sure too remove it for a SATA2 board.
24. Hoover UH70120 Sage Metallic Windtunnel Vacuum Cleaner 27FT Rewindable Cord 8FT Hose Hepa Filter
    rated on 6-28-12   Experience:  14 Days    
Strengths
Has some serious sucking power
Looks half decent
Easy to use
 
Weaknesses
If hose is plugged, motor will ramp up too full power, have not tested if it will eventually stop itself before killing motor
 
Summary
Just moved, and bought one of these for my girlfriend. Great for getting animal hair off of furniture, and tight corners. Works as well as most vacuum cleaners, no real complaints except for how the motor works. If the hose gets plugged, the motor will ramp up to clear the clog. I have not tested to see if it will blow the motor yet though. Good part of this, is that it does not always use 12 amps at the wall, this is just what the motor is rated for.
Contentname:NCIX_Weekly_Special_Side  
Featured Brands:
Shop by brands
Your Order Company Info Memberships Services Hotlinks
Customer Care
Order Status
About NCIX
Contact Us
Careers
Terms & Conditions
Branding & Logos
Privacy Policy
NCIX Rewards
Premier Partner Reseller
Affiliate Program
NCIX Gift Cards
Online Price Match
NCIX Newsletters
Facebook
YouTube
Twitter
Forums
International Sites: United States Canada
Copyright© 2015 - NCIXUS.com/NCIXUS Technology Inc. All rights reserved.